A reminder of what is right with the world

This morning when I walked into the office, I was greeted by a flowery pink gift bag waiting for me at the receptionist’s desk. Inside was a bottle of Moscato and some Lindt chocolates. No, it’s not my birthday. This beautiful gift was a thank-you from a coworker for helping out with the project I volunteered for on Monday. Totally unexpected and far too generous. To me, taking the time to drive downtown and assist was not a big deal. It was during regular work hours, it took only a few hours to complete, and it didn’t prevent me from being able to complete my other tasks on time. It was just something that seemed like the right thing to do.

Work in general has been stressful the past few weeks. Actually, several things outside of work have been stressful the past few weeks. I feel like I’m giving and giving, but not getting anything to replenish me. Like I have to hold everybody else up, but that no one is holding me up, and I’m afraid that I might not be strong enough to keep standing. My coworker has no idea about any of this; we aren’t close at all and we only see each other in meetings every few weeks. So she has no way of knowing what her gift meant–that to me, it was uplifting. As cheesy as this sounds, it was a small reminder that even when bad things keep happening, good things happen too. There are still a few (ok, more than a few) things that are right with the world. Chin up.

Leave a Reply

