Pushing through

It should come as no surprise to me that I’d begin experiencing a massive case of writer’s block almost as soon as I started this blog. Part of the problem is that I’m a procrastinator- especially when it comes to writing. Every assignment that I had in school was treated much the same way: I’d come up with a rough idea of what I would do, and then it would be set aside until much, much closer to the deadline. Granted, the idea would be percolating somewhere in the back of my mind the whole time, but that’s very different than actively putting the words to paper. I learned how to make this habit work well for me. But in a blog, there are no deadlines. Thus, what is easily put off today eventually spins off into infinity, with nothing to force the expression of the words floating around in my head.

I know, too, that I’m over-thinking. I can’t edit before writing–I need to just write. There’s no pressure, and nothing to lose. I write best when I simply say what I think. So with that in mind, I’m going to start writing every day–whether it’s a paragraph or ten, whether I have photos or not, whether the topic is deeply personal or entirely mundane. The only way I’m going to get past this hangup is to push through. (And even now, I’m second-guessing myself about putting this post out there. Enough already!)

Leave a Reply

